Question: What is the law in California for dating a minor?

In California, it is illegal for someone 18 or older to have sex with someone younger than 18, even if the sex is consensual. This is considered statutory rape under state law. Statutory rape laws are based on the assumption that minors are incapable of giving informed consent to sexual activities.

What age is considered a minor in California?

18 years Under the California Labor Code, “minor” means any person under the age of 18 years who is required to attend school under the provisions of the Education Code, and includes minors under age six.

What can a 18 year old do in California?

Enter into binding contracts - for example, leases, opening bank accounts and applying for loans (of course, to obtain the loan, you may still need a co-signer). Buy or sell property, such as real estate and stock. Marry without written consent of parents or guardian. Sue or be sued.

At what age is a child no longer considered a minor?

When is a person considered a minor (a child/young person) in Australia? In Australia, the general position is that a person under 18 years is legally regarded as a minor. However NSW and SA have legislation that recognise a childs ability to consent to medical treatment earlier.

Are you still classed as a child at 18?

The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) defines a child as everyone under 18 unless, under the law applicable to the child, majority is attained earlier.

Say hello

Find us at the office

Hostler- Pertzborn street no. 57, 67563 Kigali, Rwanda

Give us a ring

Anterio Ruebush
+29 780 790 988
Mon - Fri, 8:00-17:00

Contact us