The age of consent to engage sexual intercourse in the state of Connecticut is sixteen years old. This means that any person who is sixteen years or older can consent to sexual intercourse with someone sixteen years or older.
Can a 21 year old date a 16 year old in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone 16 or younger), even if the sex is consensual. Those who break the law have committed statutory rape.
Can a 16 year old consent to a 20 year old in CT?
This means minors who are 15 years of age or younger in the state cannot legally consent to sexual activity. If an adult holds a position of authority (e.g. teacher, coach, etc.) over the minor and he/she is more than 20 years old, then the age of consent increases to 18 years of age or older.
Is 17 a minor in Connecticut?
Depending on the purpose for which the definition is being used, a “minor” can mean a person under age 16, 17, 18, or 21. That statute also establishes that the “age of majority” in Connecticut is 18, and it considers anyone who reaches this age an adult.
Can a 16 year old move out without parental consent in Connecticut?
In Connecticut you can become what is known as emancipated at age 16; this would allow your sister-in-law to move out of her mothers house.