Question: What is the Romeo and Juliet law in Connecticut?

Connecticut has a close-in-age exemption. A close in age exemption, also known as Romeo and Juliet law, is designed to prevent the prosecution of underage couples who engage in consensual sex when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both are below the age of consent.

Can a 16 year old date a 20 year old in Connecticut?

The age of consent in Connecticut is 16 years old. This means minors who are 15 years of age or younger in the state cannot legally consent to sexual activity. over the minor and he/she is more than 20 years old, then the age of consent increases to 18 years of age or older.

Say hello

Find us at the office

Hostler- Pertzborn street no. 57, 67563 Kigali, Rwanda

Give us a ring

Anterio Ruebush
+29 780 790 988
Mon - Fri, 8:00-17:00

Contact us