The sex offender database is maintained by the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS). The goal of the registry is to: notify the public of the location of sex offenders, and. allow law enforcement to monitor convicted sex offenders.
How does Arizona treat sex offenders?
Those registered as sex offenders in Arizona are required to register themselves in states they visit if they are going to be staying for at least 10 days or more. Any registered sex offender who fails to register their visitation in another state can be charged with an additional Class 4 felony offense.
Why would someone be on the sex offenders register?
Since 1997, anyone cautioned or convicted for a sexual offence is put on the sex offenders register (SOR). This includes anyone who commits a sexual offence on the internet. If you are convicted, you will be required to go to your local police station and sign the register.
Can a sex offender get off the registry in Arizona?
Being on the sex offender registry is a stigma that most would rather avoid. Its unlikely that someone can have their name removed from the sex offender registry in Arizona. However, it may be possible to get your charges dismissed or diminished if the crime was a lesser offense such as indecent exposure.
What crimes require sex offender registration?
What Types of Crimes Require Sex Offender Registration?Child pornography.Use of a minor in a sexual performance.Solicitation of a minor, including online solicitation.Kidnapping and false imprisonment.Criminal sexual conduct.Felony indecent exposure.May 22, 2017
How long do you stay on sex offenders register?
How long do offenders remain on the register? It depends on the offence. Those given a jail sentence of more than 30 months for sexual offending are placed on the register indefinitely. Those imprisoned for between six and 30 months remain on the register for 10 years, or five years if they are under 18.
Do sex offenders have to notify neighbors USA?
If you are not under any type of supervision, there is no legal obligation requiring you to disclose this information. While offenders must answer truthfully, several other state and federal laws are in place to protect against hiring discrimination.
What is a Level 2 sex offender in AZ?
Level two sex offenders are deemed to be at risk of reoffending but do not have as high of a risk as level three sex offenders. If you are assigned a level two risk, you must register with the sheriffs department in your county.
What is a Class D sex offender?
Examples of Class D offenses include urinating in public spaces, solicitation and indecent exposure in the public. If convicted of a Class D felony, the defendant will face less than 5 years but more than 1 year in prison, a fine of up to $250,000 or a probation term of between 1 to 5 years.