Question: Does SC have Romeo and Juliet law?

South Carolina does not have a close in age exemption, often referred to as a “Romeo and Juliet” law. Since South Carolina does not have any close in age exemption, this means that, technically, if two individuals are under the age of 16 and engage in sexual conduct, both can receive statutory rape charges.

Can an 18 year old date a 16 year old in South Carolina?

In South Carolina, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone younger than 15), even if the sex is consensual. Those who break the law have committed statutory rape.

Say hello

Find us at the office

Hostler- Pertzborn street no. 57, 67563 Kigali, Rwanda

Give us a ring

Anterio Ruebush
+29 780 790 988
Mon - Fri, 8:00-17:00

Contact us